top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAna Vedette

Art for a living: The struggle of being an artist with a 9-5 job.


I'm not going to sit here and tell you that being an artist and trying to make a living is easy peasy lemon squeezy because it's far from that. In fact, its so difficult, that most people don't even know how to begin and end up just losing the skill to a draining 9-5 job, or have kids or just lose the motivation in general.


So what's the point, what's so great about trying to make a living with art if it's so "difficult"?


Good question, the answer is this; In it's simplest form, your work can be your play.


This quote is exactly what motivates me every day to work as hard as I can to achieve financial freedom while chasing my dreams in the meantime.

Now, I'm not saying "Drop out of college and throw away years of studies to follow your goals!"


Oh, wait? Yes, I actually am. I've never actually attended college, and look at me! This, of course, comes with many disclaimers. For example, if you really love your chosen career path and are assured greatness, or if you're not too sure that you really have that strong a passion for the arts. Then this might not be the best choice for you.


So here's the juice, the reason I've never attended college as an artist is because I truly believe it to be a waste of my time. Now many might argue with this, but if you look at my successes so far, has not attended college been so detrimental to me? So in comparison, would it be detrimental to you? Would you struggle to find your life path if you let go of everything taking up space in your head, creating stress and making you overwhelmed? When all you want to do is sit in the corner and draw?


This brings us back to our main topic, How to make a living off of being an artist. The most difficult part of this whole career is the take-off. But there are so many artists who have done it. Quick! If you don't believe me, do a small web search on google or safari or whatever you use and type this, "famous graphic design artists" You can even copy and paste that into the search bar, and just look how many come up! One of those could be you. You just have to put in the work and make it happen.


One of the best ways to earn income on the internet as an artist, RIGHT NOW, is YouTube, no lie. I'm not bullshitting you on this one, it's the biggest trend in the world right at this moment to earn an income, doing really anything.


And one of the best life-changing courses you can take to educate your self on this is known as Viral Academy. Seriously, it has provided the information to allow artists and vloggers and entrepreneurs alike with the ability to do what you love and make more money then you know what to do with off of it. So if you have the time to research that I highly suggest you do so. It's a once and a lifetime opportunity.


Anyway, that's all the time I have today but just remember, you'll never have a better opportunity to do what you love for work if you don't make the most of your time, RIGHT NOW.




4 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page